Basketball through the bottom of hoop

by Thom
(Augusta, Maine)

If a player bounces a basketball such that it goes through the hoop from the ground up and then comes down through the hoop, is it a legal basket?

Comments for Basketball through the bottom of hoop

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Goal Will Not Count.
by: Anonymous

The goal will not count. From the NBA official rules:

e. On the following infractions, the ball shall be awarded to the opposing team out-of-bounds on the nearest sideline at the free throw line extended:
(1) Three-seconds (offensive)
(2) Ball entering basket from below

Once the basketball enters the hoop from the bottom the ball is dead.

Feb 05, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I don't believe so...
by: Joe Waters - webmaster

Hey Thom,

I don't think the basket would count.

I've never heard of it happening or seen it happen, so I can't say for sure.


[Home][Top DVDs][Basketball Forums]
[Free Newsletter][Featured Products]


Feb 05, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
help
by: Anonymous

Any help on this would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Thom

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Basketball Questions: The Hoops Help Line.